Recycled print roomI’ve long been a fan of using architectural drawings to furnish a room.  I love their geometric and graphic quality.  I love the fact that they go with any colour scheme (being entirely neutral).  I love their almost scientific quality.

recycled plans

So when I came across a load in an auction this weekend, crumbling at the edges and beginning to yellow with age, I snapped them up!

recycled architectural drawing

I’m not quite sure what I’m going to do with them yet but I do have several ideas:

1. the obvious: frame them and hang them.

2. less obvious: embed one into a table-top, well varnished or glazed for protection

3. possibly a bit crazy (and therefore most likely) incorporate one into a faux finish on a wall so it appears to be revealed beneath crumbling plaster.

antique drawing

One or two of them have dates on which are ’15’ and ’16’.  At first I thought that’s 1915, not 1815…  But actually, World War One was raging exactly at that point and I’m not sure that young men (obviously not young ladies in those days) were off in Malta and Italy drawing architecture.

signature and date

It was indeed a century earlier that the Palladian style (which these drawings represent) was in high fashion, and it was in that period that the ‘Grand Tour’ was in vogue – and everyone who was anyone (or at least, who could afford it) popped off to Europe to draw a few churches.

So maybe these are two hundred years old?

doesn't cost the earth antique drawing

They are all from Europe – the one below is the church from Montepulciano – an absolutely divine Tuscan village.

Montepulciano church

On an old brick wall the simplicity of these prints really stands out.  (in this case you get it complete with your own vintage architect Peter Trapolin)

But they look equally fab in a sleek modern interior

Watch this space for where my new acquisitions end up!

