I think I mentioned that I got a load of old filing boxes from a deceased estate.  I crackled glazed the first one (here), and have been thinking about the next project.

My post on maps decided me – it had to be….

Old filing box vintage before

I cleaned the old labels off and gave this a bit of a scrub.  And then I got to work on this divine wrapping paper I found!  It has an old map of Rome printed on it – but the paper itself is high quality and robust.  I’m sure you could use an actual map – but this beautiful paper just spoke to me.

map covered Old filing box vintage before

I made sure that the nicest bit was on the lid (in this case I wanted the Colosseum, and the Forum).  Whilst you could cut each side separately, I wanted the box to look seamless, so I wrapped the paper round and cut a cross shape to fit the top and all sides.

map covered box recycled vintage

I painted PVA glue evening onto each surface, starting with the top, and smoothed the paper over it.  As I covered each edge, I used a scalpel to cut the map where the top and the bottom join – as you can see below.

map covered box recycled vintage interiors2

This way the map will be continuous and the join between the lid and the base will be invisible.

I also cut around the hinges.  I did think about taking them off and re-attaching them – but I thought this would be easier and neater.  Again I used a scalpel, cutting the hole once the top was glued but before gluing the back, so that it would sit completely flat.

map hinges covered box recycled vintage interiors

They are rather cute brass hinges, so I don’t mind seeing them.  Then I waited (impatiently) for the glue to dry.  Whilst you can leave it unvarnished – it will get torn and dirty with time.  I thought I’d take a leaf out of the decoupage book – and varnish the paper.  By the way – I just don’t get the appeal of decoupage - it always looks chintzy and frilly to me – cut-outs of flowers glued onto wood.  Why would you?

varnishing map decoupage covered box recycled vintage interiors

I wasn’t quite sure how the varnish was going to take to the paper.  (sometimes glue or varnish can react badly with the printing and make it run).  I suppose if I were a different kind of person I would have done a test.  But as I only had $6 invested in the paper, I thought I’d live dangerously…  If it didn’t work, I could start again.

Luckily it did work.  And three coats of varnish later it looks amazing!  I used wood varnish in a satin finish.

recovered vintage map box interiors recycled

The varnish really makes it tough.  Dirt and oil from fingers won’t mark it.  Dust won’t permanently settle into the paper.

recovered vintage map box interiors recycled2

Wrapping the paper seamlessly over the top and sides creates a sense of flow over the box and allows you to find your way through parts of Rome…

recovered vintage map box interiors recycled3

The colours in this go with so many decor styles and colour schemes.

recovered vintage map box interiors recycled books

And for total maptastic overload….

recovered vintage map box interiors recycled books

mmm – time to plan the next holiday I think…..

recovered vintage map box interiors recycled books3

