I just love texture – even more than colour.  What is more delicious than the contrast between the slubbing of linen and the lusciousness of velvet, or worn leather with wood?  Introducing textural contrasts into a room transform it into feeling homely.  Sometimes that’s all that’s missing.

After all, it’s the combination of coral and seagrass that makes a room feel beachy.  Or in contrast, marble and glass give a space a formal, glamorous mood.

Years ago I saw a photo of a sculptor who had covered all of his furniture (and I mean ALL – drawers, tables, everything!) with rope.  It looked surreal, soft, not like furniture at all.  And that’s what gave me the idea for this, somewhat mind-numbing project.  Yes – you have been warned.  This was very tedious to do. 

I had a pair of old candlesticks in cheap, dark wood (or maybe even painted MDF) and was thinking of throwing them out.  And then it came to me: cover them in jute.  Unfortunately I don’t have a ‘before’ photo….

Jute covered candlesticks

Basically, all you need is some craft glue and a large ball of jute twine – available from any gardening or hardware shops.  Then you apply glue to the first few inches and wind the jute around, keeping it pressed down, one layer onto the next so that you get a good tight covering.

adding texture to recycled furniture

The main thing you’ll see at the end is the shape of the object, so make sure you pick something with good proportions or an interesting shape.

organic texture interiors

It was quite a boring process really, just winding the jute round and round.  In fact, for the second candlestick, I had a friend over to talk to me while I did it!  You can’t really watch TV and do this….

But it was worth it!  I love the result, and they look great in so many places. 

As a word of caution, flush with success, I then tried another project, but this time with string instead of jute.  This was not one of my better pieces for a number of reasons.  Firstly the string doesn’t adhere as well as it’s stringier!  It’s also thinner, so gaps appear more readily between layers. In addition, being paler than jute, it looks dirty very quickly.  As in – as soon as you’ve finished!  So, if you’re attempting to wrap something, stick to jute!

Jute recycled candlesticks

Make sure your glue dries clear and then it won’t matter if any squeezes out between the jute.  This really is a low cost, low skill (but high patience) project.

doesnt cost the earth to add texture

Have you covered anything with jute?  Or string?

