I love shopping in India – the chaos, the haggling, the to-ing and fro-ing until you settle on a price. I love the discussions over hot, sweet tea, the laughter when you make and offer, the shaking of the head. I always take an empty suitcase with me (it’s so cheap and easy to get your clothes cleaned) and fill it up with purchases. And the thing I love buying most over there are the show-stopping textiles.

On my last trip, I was lucky enough to find a selection of antique beaded trims from very expensive and exotic saris.  These are all made by hand, and are a cornucopia of gold thread, beads and pearls, creating a heavy and lavish effect.  Utterly stunning.

One of the loveliest ways to use this is on window treatments.  This way you can see it every day.  This splendid trim was applied to gold silk blinds for a bedroom.  Along the bottom of the smaller blinds, the trim (it’s amazingly heavy with all that gold thread) acts as a weight, which helps the blinds hang well.  On the larger blind across the french doors, it was applied in two vertical stripes, to emphasise the ceiling height.

